FACULTY SENATE

FACULTY DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

SPRING 2025

INFORMATION PACKET

- Call for nominations
- Award description
- Timetable for process
- Past award recipients

Dear Faculty Colleagues,

As Faculty Senate President, it is my pleasure to announce the process to recognize an outstanding colleague who has provided extraordinary service to the University, the Center for Health Sciences, the profession, and the community.

Since its inception in April 2008, we have had a formal way to recognize such distinguished and meritorious service through the *OSU-CHS Faculty Distinguished Service Award*.

Please take a few minutes, now while you have this in mind, to begin a nomination for a deserving faculty colleague to receive the OSU-CHS Faculty Distinguished Service Award. The full award information and instructions document is attached, and you will want to review the instructions for detailed and specific information, but briefly the steps are these:

- 1. Decide on a deserving colleague you wish to nominate,
- 2. Review the eligibility and nomination criteria on page 1 of the attachment.
- 3. Begin gathering the needed documents:
 - A. Write a letter of nomination,
 - B. Request a CV for the nominee which includes a description of service activities,
 - C. Request a statement from the nominee on her/his philosophy of service and an impact statement as listed in "Required Documentation", and
- 4. Request supporting letters from faculty and others who have directly observed quality outcomes from this service.

When the required documents are gathered, forward the full electronic nomination packet as an email attachment, and send it to Dr. Julie Croff, Faculty Senate President-elect. The packet is to be received no later than <u>March 15</u>. A review committee, comprised of the officers of the Faculty Senate, will consider the nominations, and select the awardee.

The award will include both a one-time monetary component (\$2,000), and a recognition plaque. The award will be announced at the Spring CHS General Faculty meeting.

Sincerely,

Faculty Senate President



OFFICE OF THE FACULTY SENATE

Distinguished Faculty Service Award

Award Philosophy and Guidelines:

• The Faculty Senate Distinguished Service Award recognizes superior effort and accomplishment by a faculty member in service to Oklahoma State University, Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences, his/her profession, and the community/public. Recipients of the award will be selected based on the evidence of outstanding and meritorious service.

Eligibility and Nomination Criteria:

- Full-time faculty member for four (4) or more years in any faculty appointment (includes tenure-track as well as clinical-track).
- An individual is eligible to receive this award no more than once every five (5) years.

Required Documentation:

- A letter of nomination from an OSU-CHS faculty member.
- Curriculum vitae of the nominee, including a description of service activities.
- Nominee's statement on philosophy of service and an impact statement summarizing outcomes of his/her service contributions and creative efforts in those areas.
- Supporting letters from faculty and others who have directly observed quality and outcomes of service activities.

Number of Awards:

• One (1) annual award per year - The award will be a one-time \$2,000 cash award and an award plaque. The award may alternate each year between Biomedical and Clinical Sciences divisions.

Source of Funds:

• The Office of Academic Affairs provides funds for the cash award and plaque.

Submission of the Application:

• The completed application should be submitted electronically to the Faculty Senate President-elect by the end of deadline date on the timetable. The application should be arranged and organized in the order listed above under "Required Documentation."

Evidence to be considered in the Award Selection process will include, but not be limited to the following:

- Institutional service including committee service, faculty governance activities, student advisement, and faculty development activities.
- Professional service including service to professional and scientific organizations (includes committees, offices held, etc.), governmental appointments, and consulting activities.
- Public service including invited talks for lay audiences, community healthcare activities, participation in community charitable services, public-media-sponsored presentations, and other public service activities related to the missions of the University, Center for Health Sciences, department/discipline, or the osteopathic profession.
- Special awards and recognitions from regional, national, and international societies in the applicant's field of service.

Award Process:

- The Faculty Senate President will notify the Faculty regarding the availability of this award.
- Complete electronic nomination packages will be accepted by the Faculty Senate President-elect through March 15, 2025 and assessed by the Faculty Senate Officers. It may be necessary to schedule interviews with the finalists prior to final selection.
- The award recipient will be announced at the Spring General Faculty Meeting.

Review and Selection Committee:

- The Officers of the Faculty Senate will serve as the Review and Selection Committee. Officers nominated for the award must recuse themselves from the Committee during that particular year and they may be replaced with faculty senate members.
- The Chair of the Committee will be the President of the Faculty Senate or an appointed faculty senate member.

Faculty Senate Distinguished Service Award

Time Table for Spring 2025

| February 15 | Senate President's Call for Nominations for Distinguished Service Award |
|-------------|---|
| March 17 | Submission Deadline: Complete Nomination Applications are due electronically, and are to be submitted directly to Faculty Senate President- elect, by 5:00 p.m. |
| March 24 | Applications are to be distributed electronically to members of the Review and Selection Committee. |
| April 2 | Review and Selection Committee meets with applicants, if necessary to April 12 |
| April 19 | Decision made of Award recipient; plaque ordered |
| May | The Award presented at Spring 2025 OSU-CHS General Faculty Meeting. |

Faculty Senate Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2009 – Mike Pollak, Ph.D. 2010 – Al Rouch, Ph.D. 2011 – Steve Eddy, D.O. 2012 – Stan Grogg, D.O. 2013 - Warren Finn, Ph.D. 2014 – Nancy Van Winkle, Ph.D. 2015 - Harriet Shaw, D.O. 2016 - Sarah Hall, D.O. 2017 – Randy Wymore, Ph.D. 2018 - Randall Davis, Ph.D. 2019 - Dennis Blankenship, D.O. 2020 - Gerwald Koehler, Ph.D. 2021- Mousumi Som, D.O. 2022- Denna Wheeler, Ph.D. 2023 – Nedra Wilson, Ph.D. 2024 – Damon Baker, D.O.